top of page

Why I'm politically Independent

Updated: Apr 30, 2021

The reason I'm an Independent is because most politics are just an endless cycle of pointless arguing which all end in burnt-out confusion.


I've been to democratic platforms, I've heard all their points and views. I've met extreme liberals who want to lead a vegan, completely modern, and heavily LGBTQ+ kind of "utopia". I've met simple dems who just want basic human rights. I've watched the rallies of democratic figures such as Kamala Harris and Joe Biden. I've read about people who allowed their schoolchildren to change gender. I've met many LGBTQ+ people, I've heard all their stories about being kicked out of their homes and being beaten and shot. I've talked to blacks about their honest opinions of what's racist and what's not.


I've been to platforms like this, I've diligently watched republican's points of views and their overall opinions. I've talked to people who just care about america and want their people to be happy. I've talked to people who hate blacks, muslims, LGBTQ+ people for no real reason at all. And I've read posts about horrible things those people have done, which are valid reasons. I've talked to flat earthers and amish people. I've watched many Trump rallies, I've read his book and books about him. I've been to platforms where "men act manly" and anything remotely feminine is discouraged.


I can't say I don't have a personal opinion on everything I've mentioned above. Everyone has an opinion on everything. But I rarely express or talk about that opinion. Why? Because I don't think it would accomplish anything. Someone out there will disagree with me for anything about myself.


I'm not black, and I'm not openly LGBTQ+, but I know things about pain and darkness. I know the pain blacks have faced. And I know the pain whites have faced. I know that whatever pain someone has faced, someone opposite to them has faced something parallel.


I have never turned away from someone because of their opinions. Even if I know someone is wrong and delusional, I'll take the time to listen to them. At the very least I'll know a bit more about this world. I don't care what you are. But the one thing I will not tolerate is you using that as an excuse to be rude to me.


I've learned many things from all the people I've met and opinions I've heard. The main three are:


1) Keep to yourself.

2) Never fully trust anyone or anything.

3) Don't make yourself a target.


I don't think I'll ever get tired of listening to people. I don't think I'll ever lose my curiosity. I sure as hell hope I never make boundaries and block out whole groups of people.


True open mindedness is a rare virtue, and when I meet people like myself we have a deep and long-lasting connection. I like to say I sift through the garbage. I sift through people to find reasonable ones. I sift through opinions to find facts.



3 views0 comments
bottom of page